Searching \ for 'Re1: [OT] is this a fake paypal? what the site can' in subject line. ()
Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure! Help us get a faster server
FAQ page: massmind.org/techref/index.htm?key=
Search entire site for: '[OT] is this a fake paypal? what the site can'.

Truncated match.
PICList Thread
'Re1: [OT] is this a fake paypal? what the site can'
2005\11\04@171730 by rosoftwarecontrol

flavicon
face
It happened to me once:
I saw a email from paypal stating my
account will be suspended if do nothing
within 24 hrs. I followed the link,
gave password and correct address,
finally returned a site that is not paypal.
Then I talked to paypal, they told me
I need change password immediately.

Also I learned, look at the link:
if it is not start with "http://www."
then it is a fake. I don't know why?
but in this case it is not.




----- Original Message -----
From: "James Newtons Massmind" <spam_OUTjamesnewtonTakeThisOuTspammassmind.org>
To: "'Microcontroller discussion list - Public.'" <.....piclistKILLspamspam@spam@mit.edu>
Sent: Friday, November 04, 2005 12:38 PM
Subject: RE: [OT] is this a fake paypal? what the site can do to you?


> I don't mean to be... Mean. Or to question your intelligence... I'm sure
> there must be a reason for this, and I genuinely want to know how anyone
> could think that was a link to PayPal.
>
> I honestly want to know. I'm trying to understand how people get sucked
into
> these things, so I can try to help.
>
> What in that link makes you wonder if it could be real?
>
> Is it the redirect.to.paypal.com part?
>
> Is it not understanding that domains start from the left just after the
> ?
>
> Is it having seen other links for advertisements where there is a
redirector
{Quote hidden}

> > {Original Message removed}

2005\11\05@052721 by Gerhard Fiedler

picon face
microsoftwarecontrol wrote:

> Also I learned, look at the link:
> if it is not start with "http://www."
> then it is a fake. I don't know why?

This is not good enough as a rule! Unless you are quite familiar with the
many ways URLs can be created and obfuscated, and with how your email
program can be tricked in displaying links that do something different from
what you would expect (using JavaScript etc.), the only safe way is to
/never/, /ever/ enter confidential information into a site for which you
didn't type the URL yourself into the browser.

Note that not even your favorites are completely secure -- they can be
injected. I don't know whether favorites can be removed or altered, but
they can be added. At least a few years ago that was possible.

And if you should receive a legitimate email from an institution you do
business with that contains a link and asks you to follow that link and log
in, you could send them a note asking them to remove that link from the
email and instead read up on phishing, and instead of the link add some
phishing education to their email...

Gerhard

2005\11\05@063255 by Russell McMahon

face
flavicon
face
> And if you should receive a legitimate email from an institution you
> do
> business with that contains a link and asks you to follow that link
> and log
> in, you could send them a note asking them to remove that link from
> the
> email and instead read up on phishing, and instead of the link add
> some
> phishing education to their email...

I recently received a higher than average quality phishing email.

It's common to receive emails offering "part time work" where you are
to be the agent for a company who wish you to receive payments on
their behalf and forward them to them. For this you get say 5% of the
payment. You are in effect laundering stolen funds - they steal funds
from eg US accounts but are unable to remit these internationally due
to certain safeguards - they need a real person in the loop. They want
you to be the sucker.

This email was one of those BUT, unlike most, the email address went
to where it appeared to - which is unusual. Further - the website with
the same name seemed to be that of a real company with many linked
live pages, real merchandise, special offers, information pages,
contact us pages etc. All seemed VERY real. I was certain it wasn't so
kept looking for a giveaway. Aha! - they claimed to be in California
but store hours were quoted in EST (Eastern Standard Time). I found  a
line  from a page which seemed likely to be fairly unique, and asked
Google. Bingo! - an electronic retailer in Florida had a near
identical website. They also included a page on internet fraud which
was strangely missing on the scam site.

So I emailed the Florida firm and also filed an FBI complaint.

Scam site is still there a day later, so nobody seems too fussed about
it.

       http://www.digitalsplanet.com

They get value two ways.
email respondees provide money laundering.
And anyone 'buying' from the site gets their credit card details
stolen.

Here's their 'contact us" page with EST store hours for a California
store

       http://www.digitalsplanet.com/contact_us/contact_us.htm

Here's the "real" site.
Less broken - but still some bad pages.
Flying bee-men missing from copy site :-)

       http://www.plasmacity.com/

       http://www.plasmacity.com/CONTACT_US/CONTACT_US.htm



       RM

More... (looser matching)
- Last day of these posts
- In 2005 , 2006 only
- Today
- New search...